The Downs, Bristol
Technical sheet
Creation:
Last update:
–
–
-
Activity: Walking
-
Distance: 6.29 km
-
Average duration: 1h 55
-
Difficulty: Not specified
-
-
Return to departure point: Yes
-
Vertical gain: + 29 m
-
Vertical drop: - 29 m
-
-
Highest point: 96 m
-
Lowest point: 67 m
-
Country: United Kingdom
-
District: City of Bristol
-
Start/End: N 51.47176° / W 2.615647°
Waypoints
- S/E : km 0 - alt. 96 m
- S/E : km 6.29 - alt. 96 m
Other walks in the area
Durdham Down
It is 150 years since The Clifton and Durdham Downs (Bristol) Act, 1861 secured the Downs as a place of recreation for us all – forever. This trail and a second trail exploring the Promenade and Observatory Hill celebrate this anniversary and explore the rich and fascinating history of the Downs.
Clifton Down
It is 150 years since The Clifton and Durdham Downs (Bristol) Act, 1861 secured the Downs as a place of recreation for us all – forever. This trail and a second trail exploring Durdham Down celebrate this anniversary and explore the rich and fascinating history of the Downs.
Canford Park, Blaise and Henbury Golf Course loop
Lovely walk in north Bristol slightly off the most obvious paths in Blaise Estate.
Blaise Castle Steep via Henbury Golf Course
A moderate walk suitable for a family with older children but unsuitable for wheels. Takes you through quieter parts of the Blaise estate and Henbury gold course.
Gorge
The gorge is at its deepest below Lover’s Leap. You can see massive cliffs of steeply tilted white Carboniferous Limestone. It is difficult to see exactly how the Gorge was formed. It would have been directly influenced by the most recent Ice Age up to 100,000 years ago.
Royals and St Mary’s Church
The Church of St Mary the Virgin dates back to 1093, with various rebuilding over the years until an extensive refurbishment in 1878. Look out for two notable graves; an obelisk memorial to the Egyptologist Amelia Edwards and coloured head and foot stones of ‘Scipio Africanus’, a negro slave.
Rhododendron
Passing by Goram’s Chair, Tarn Lake, Beech Cathedral, Lily Pond, Rhododendron Walk, Rustic Lodge, Woodman’s Cottage.
Castle
Built in 1795 for John Scandret Harford by William Paty. A solid, simple design placed on a rise so as to appear bigger. Harford was responsible for commissioning landscape architect Humphrey Repton and thereafter, architect John Nash who designed the Orangery, Dairy and nearby Blaise Hamlet. More ornate additions representing a Greek classical influence were made to both the exterior and interior of the house from 1832-3 by C R Cockerell on instruction from J S Harford Jnr.
For more walks, use our search engine .
The GPS track and description are the property of the author. Do not copy them without permission.