The Gaul root of its name means 'strength, courage'. The Hundred Years War persuaded the construction of numerous underground passages, which enabled the inhabitants to take refuge from extreme violence. Without a doubt Protestantism has left its mark in the area, particularly with the Segonzacais. The first Reformed church was founded in 1558. Troubles occurred in 1562 and the parish church was burnt down. Today's Temple church is the third constructed since the Edict of Nantes.
Calculated time is computed with the distance, the height difference, and an average speed of 2.2 mph. For an intermediate walker, this time includes small breaks.
Start from the lavoir (wash-house) behind the church. Waymarked in yellow.
(S/F) Skirt the cognac-production estate and take the road on your left – Rue Aimé Richard. Just before the Médiathèque turn right, Rue Traversière. At the end turn left in front of the bakery.
(1) Head up to the right, take Rue Henry Gourry Laurand. At the end there's a double bend and the tarmac disappears: continue on a well-maintained path, head uphill awhile before descending. Take a bend to the left, then right. Go past several trees, then the path heads uphill.
(2) After a good 100m leave the well-maintained path and turn left onto a grassy path between the vineyards, which crosses many other pathways. Keep going straight ahead.
(3) Cross the D1, continuing opposite, staying on this path and ignoring any intersections until arriving at a T junction with vines ahead of you.
(4) Turn left. The path ends up at a small road by an intersection. Continue straight on towards Mortefond.
(5) After having passed by several houses, turn right in between some buildings. The tarmac then disappears and the path turns heads uphill to the left.
(6) Turn right by an isolated tree, remaining on the same waymarked path through the vineyard. The path turns to the left, then left again before reaching a small wood. Walk alongside it for several meters before entering.
(7) At the T junction with a well-maintained chalk path, turn left. The path goes alongside several wooded areas, sometimes left, sometimes right, heading downhill little by little to avoid being surrounded by grape vines.
(8) At the crossroads in the middle of the vines continue straight ahead towards a small building. Stay on this path which becomes a tarmac road.
(9) Head down to the left to return to Segonzac.
(10)At the next intersection turn right towards the centre of town along Rue Gaston Briand. Continue straight ahead until you reach the Gendarmerie, then turn right to go back to the lavoir (wash-house). (S/F)
D/A : km 0 - alt. 57m
1 : km 0.38 - alt. 57m - Right, Rue Henry Gourry Laurand
2 : km 2.02 - alt. 53m - Grassy path to the left
3 : km 3.12 - alt. 60m - D1 continues ahead
4 : km 4.86 - alt. 69m - T junction, turn left.
5 : km 5.56 - alt. 93m - Turn right, between buildings
6 : km 5.88 - alt. 121m - Turn right by sole tree
7 : km 6.37 - alt. 137m - T junction, turn left
8 : km 8.05 - alt. 103m - Crossroad in the middle of the vines, ahead
9 : km 8.84 - alt. 86m - Tarmac road, descend left
10 : km 9.21 - alt. 62m - Rue Gaston Briand
D/A : km 9.79 - alt. 56m
Visorando and this author cannot be held responsible in the case of accidents or problems occuring on this walk.
Segonzac: the root of its name means 'strength, courage' in Gaulish.
Archaeological digs have revealed a Neolithic inhabitation (approx. 5000 B.C)
The Hundred Years' War persuaded the construction of numerous underground passages, which enabled the inhabitants to take refuge from extreme violence.
Protestantism has, without a doubt, left its mark in the area, particularly with the Segonzacais. The first Reformed church was founded in 1558. Troubles occurred in 1562 and the parish church was burnt down. Today's Temple is the third constructed since the Edict of Nantes.
According to a legend at the start of the 17th century, it was at Segonzac that a vintner named Chevalier de la Croix Maron invented double distillation.
This circuit gives you the chance to discover rural heritage (springs, water sources, open air wash houses); and at each place, a description of its history is displayed. The route also highlights the architectural and historical heritage of the 13th century (Eglise Saint-Prohet, the Place Jacquaire, the protestant stele, the Chateau de Segeville) plus the various hamlets in the locality, flora and fauna.
A lovely walk through the Charentais vineyards, passing beautiful buildings and around the village of Roissac.
Angeac- Champagne counts numerous prosperous-looking Charentais houses, witness to the wealth which lies in the local economy producing cognac, its principal occupation. The entrances to the estates are marked by a gate or porch way: there are at least 50. They are unique and typical of our local heritage. At Roissac village they embellish the main street.
The commune of Ambleville is crossed by the Collinaud, a stream tributary of the River Né, which includes wash-houses typically found in this area of Grande Champagne. During your walk you will have the chance to discover La Motte, a hamlet in this commune. Take the time to admire the rolling countryside and La Motte wash-house.
This walk can be enjoyed with all the family, because children will find it fun to cross the Collinaud by way of the stepping stones.
Situated at 25m altitude - the river Né and the Motte stream are the principal water courses which cross the locality.
In certain places there are excellent views towards and from the village, the Dolmen, of the vineyards, the landscape of the Grande Champagne and surrounding villages. In every season you can discover a certain charm and appeal in St. Fort.
Thanks to the natural beauty of its location and the richness of its heritage, Saint-Brice is one of the most picturesque areas of Cognac region. At the heart of the Charente and Soloire rivers valley, man has erected many symbolic buildings: dolmens, churches, abbeys, castles and manors, all expertly crafted.
Discover the rich fauna and flora of the Né valley in this Natura 2000 classified area - a nature protected zone with many diverse and protected species and plants, such as the European Mink (a little known species near extinction) and wild orchids, as well as many other species naturally found in a preserved environment.
Gimeux was built on a hillside overlooking the valley and marshlands of the river Né and enjoys a flourishing farming activity: meadows and cereal fields in the valley, vineyards on the hills. Ancient burial sites and the outline of the old Roman road called ‘Chemin Boisné’ are revealing of the ancestral occupation of the land. The parish church dates back to the 12th century. Also marking the landscape are an old chapel as well as the remains of a windmill on the Fanaud hillside.
For more walks, use our search engine.
The GPS track and description are the property of the author.